The month you can book without a visa
The valley holds Medellín like a bowl, and the green keeps climbing past the last rooftop. That is the view from El Poblado. It and Laureles are where Medellín's coworking spaces publish their prices, which is where this page starts. The better news is the paperwork. For most passport holders there is none. 1
Colombia wrote remote workers into its immigration rules in 2022. Resolución 5477 lets digital nomads, remote workers and digital entrepreneurs from visa-exempt countries enter on an ordinary entry permit and stay up to 90 days, extendable to 180 days in a calendar year, as long as no Colombian company pays them. Thirty days fits inside that with room to spare. 1
So the real budget for a Colombian work month is a desk, a data plan and a plan for the morning the line drops. This page prices all three from the providers' own pages, read on 26 September 2026, and converts at Colombia's official rate of COP 3,329.61 to the dollar. 4
How long can you stay in Colombia without a visa?
Ninety days on arrival, 180 in a calendar year, and one cheap extension in between.
Ninety days on arrival, 180 in a calendar year. That is the ceiling for a visa-exempt nationality, and the extension that carries you from one to the other costs COP 150,000 on Migración Colombia's 2026 tariff, about USD 45. 1, 7, 4
| Route | First stay | Ceiling | Fee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Entry permit, visa-exempt nationality | 90 days | 180 days per calendar year | No fee |
| Permiso Temporal de Permanencia, the extension | Up to 90 more days | The same 180-day ceiling | COP 150,000 (USD 45) |
| Visa V Turismo, other nationalities | 90 days | 180 days per 365 from issue | Check the fee schedule |
| Visa V Nómada Digital | Up to 2 years | Up to 2 years | USD 56 + USD 183 |
Conversions use the Tasa de Cambio Representativa del Mercado, COP 3,329.61 per USD, certified for 25 September 2026 by the Superintendencia Financiera de Colombia. The US Federal Reserve's H.10 release carries no Colombian peso rate, so the TRM is the reference throughout this page. The tourism-visa fee sits outside the sources read here. 4, 8

The rule that matters more than the count is who pays you. The entry permit covers work sold to clients and employers outside the country. Payment from a Colombian company changes your status, and with it the visa you need. 1
For nationalities that do need a visa, the Visa V Turismo grants 90 days, extendable once by another 90 calendar days, with permanence capped at 180 days inside any 365 counted from the issue date. Same ceiling, more forms. 1
Do you need Colombia's digital nomad visa?
For a single month, the answer is no. The Visa V Nómada Digital pays off past the 180-day ceiling, or when you want a permission you can build two years around. It costs USD 56 to study the application and USD 183 on approval, USD 239 in all. 2, 1
Prove the work is foreign
Artículo 46 of Resolución 5477 limits the visa to remote work or telework delivered through digital means, exclusively for foreign companies, as an employee or an independent worker, or to start a digital-content or IT venture of interest to the country. 1
Buy the health policy
An all-risk policy covering Colombian territory for accident, illness, maternity, disability, hospitalization, death and repatriation, for the whole stay you plan. 1
Plan around two years
The visa runs up to 2 years, and dependents may apply alongside the main holder. 1
| Input | COP | USD |
|---|---|---|
| Legal monthly minimum wage, 2026 | 1,750,905 | 526 |
| Multiple the visa asks for | 3 times | 3 times |
| Income to show for each of the last 3 months | 5,252,715 | 1,578 |
The wage and the multiple each come from their own source; the third line is the two multiplied. Dollar column at COP 3,329.61 per USD, 25 September 2026. 4
Colombia's terms sit in the middle of the field on money and near the top on duration. If you are choosing between countries, MMT's remote-work visa comparison runs one applicant through each of them, and tourist entry versus work permission separates the two questions most people merge.
What does coworking cost in Medellín?
Two Medellín spaces publish real prices. Both quote in pesos, and one adds tax at the till.
A fixed desk in Laureles is COP 595,000 a month before tax, COP 708,050 with 19% IVA, about USD 213. CoWorking Inspira prints its rates by the hour, the day and the month, with the tax line in plain sight. Quokka, over in El Poblado, starts at COP 10,000 an hour and throws in the coffee. 3, 10, 4
| Space and area | Unit | Listed (COP) | With 19% IVA (COP) | About (USD) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CoWorking Inspira, Laureles | Hour | 8,403 | 9,999.57 | 3 |
| CoWorking Inspira, Laureles | Day | 42,857 | 50,999.83 | 15 |
| CoWorking Inspira, Laureles | Fixed desk, month | 595,000 | 708,050.00 | 213 |
| CoWorking Inspira, Laureles | 100-hour pack, 2 months | 425,040 | 505,797.60 | 152 |
| Quokka Coworking, El Poblado | Hour, from | 10,000 | Tax line not stated | 3 |
| Quokka Coworking, El Poblado | Private office for one, from | 790,000 | Tax line not stated | 237 |
Inspira states the 19% IVA separately, so its sticker sits below the bill; Quokka's page shows prices with no tax line, and includes coffee, water and herbal teas at every tier. Dollars at COP 3,329.61 per USD, 25 September 2026. 3, 10, 4

Day passes lose to the monthly desk on the 14th day. Twenty days at Inspira's COP 50,999.83 come to COP 1,019,997, about USD 306, against COP 708,050 for the fixed desk. Count the days you will really turn up, then choose. 3, 4
- Buy hours in bulk and the hourly rate nearly halves. Inspira's 100-hour pack is COP 505,797.60 with IVA, about COP 5,058 an hour against roughly COP 10,000 walking in, and it runs for two months. 3
- Fifty hours is COP 278,188.68 with IVA, about COP 5,564 an hour, also good for two months. 3
- Thirty hours is COP 177,029.16 with IVA, about COP 5,901 an hour, and expires after one month. 3
Bogotá desks and what the price includes
Bogotá's published price is for a private office, and it reads very differently. Bloom Hub, on Calle 69A in Quinta Camacho, lists a furnished office for up to five desks at COP 2,975,000 a month on its current offer, down COP 238,000 from a list price of COP 3,213,000, tax included. That is about USD 894. 11, 4
Split five ways, it is COP 595,000 a desk, about USD 179. That is the same figure as Inspira's Medellín fixed desk before Medellín adds its tax. A private office buys a door, an address and five seats; a hot desk buys a chair. Price the thing you need first, then compare cities. 11, 3, 4
Table view: A month of desk space, in US dollars
| Item | Value (USD) |
|---|---|
| Inspira fixed desk, Medellín, with IVA | $213 |
| Quokka private office for one, Medellín | $237 |
| Inspira, 20 day passes, Medellín | $306 |
| Bloom Hub office up to 5 desks, Bogotá | $894 |
The Bogotá bar carries four more seats than the others. Split five ways it is about USD 179 a desk, which puts the two cities within a few dollars of each other for the same square metre of quiet. Source: 3, 10, 11, 4
No Bogotá space published a hot-desk rate here. Ask any of them for a written monthly rate with the tax stated, and put it next to the Medellín column above. 11
Will the internet hold a video call?
Colombia's median fixed line uploads at 110.85 Mbps. Ookla's Speedtest Global Index, updated in August 2026, puts the national fixed median at 230.60 Mbps down and 110.85 up, with mobile at 45.46 down and 15.23 up. Both clear a video call several times over. 6
A country median says little about one apartment. The line into the building, the router in the hall and the wall between you and it decide the call. Ask the host for a speed test taken at the desk, at the hour you work, and ask for the upload figure as well as the download.
| Item | Download | Upload | Price (USD) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Median mobile, Colombia, August 2026 | 45.46 Mbps | 15.23 Mbps | - |
| Median fixed broadband, August 2026 | 230.60 Mbps | 110.85 Mbps | - |
| Airalo Colombia eSIM, 3 days unlimited | - | - | 12.50 |
| Airalo Colombia eSIM, 10 days unlimited | - | - | 34.50 |
| Airalo Colombia eSIM, 30 days unlimited | - | - | 92.00 |
Speeds are national medians and hide the spread inside a city. Airalo's unlimited plans carry a daily high-speed allowance under the company's general fair-use policy, and the Colombia page restates no threshold, so read that policy before you lean on the eSIM for calls. 6, 5
Thirty days of unlimited data at USD 92 sits at the expensive end of a month's connectivity, and it is the line most easily left out of a trip budget. MMT's remote-work budget guide prices desks, eSIMs and a backup fund across seven cities, and the structure it uses fits Colombia line for line. 5
The month, priced
One city, one working pattern, every figure from the provider's own page.
Desk and data for a Medellín month come to about USD 305. A fixed desk at COP 708,050 with IVA and a 30-day unlimited eSIM at USD 92 add up to COP 1,014,374, or USD 305 at the September rate. Rent, food, flights and the weekend trip to Guatapé sit outside this table. 3, 5, 4
| Line | What it buys | COP | USD |
|---|---|---|---|
| CoWorking Inspira fixed desk, Laureles | One month, 19% IVA included | 708,050 | 213 |
| Airalo Colombia eSIM | 30 days, unlimited | 306,324 | 92 |
| Desk and data | One month | 1,014,374 | 305 |
The eSIM is sold in dollars and converted to pesos at COP 3,329.61 per USD; the desk runs the other way. Accommodation, food, transport and flights are outside this table. 4
- Work mostly from the apartment and keep a fallback. Ten Inspira day passes are COP 509,998 with IVA, about USD 153, and still give you a desk on the days that need one. 3, 4
- Want a door that shuts? Quokka's one-person private office starts at COP 790,000 a month, about USD 237. 10, 4
- Bringing a team of five to Bogotá: Bloom Hub's office at COP 2,975,000 works out at about USD 179 a desk. 11, 4
- Staying past 90 days: add COP 150,000 for the extension, about USD 45. 7, 4
Every peso figure here converts at one day's rate. MMT's exchange-rate stress test shows what a 10 percent move does to a month priced like this one, and a month in Canggu gives you a second city to hold it against. 4
Where the desks are, and whose rules apply
El Poblado and Laureles are where Medellín's published desk prices live. Three addresses, three very different working days. 10, 3, 11
| Space | Neighborhood | City |
|---|---|---|
| Quokka Coworking, Astorga and Patio Bonito | El Poblado | Medellín |
| CoWorking Inspira, Transversal 39B | Laureles | Medellín |
| Bloom Hub, Calle 69A | Quinta Camacho | Bogotá |
Colombia's cities also sit on land with governments older than the republic. Bogotá stands on the Sabana, Muisca territory, and Muisca people live in and around the city today. On the coast, the Sierra Nevada de Santa Marta is home to the Kogi, Arhuaco, Wiwa and Kankuamo peoples, who set the rules for visitors on their own terms alongside the national park.
That matters to a work month because the coast is where people go on their free weekends. Check the current access rules and the opening calendar with the park itself before you plan a trip north; the dates are set with the Sierra's peoples and they move by agreement.
In Medellín, Comuna 13 is a neighborhood before it is a tour. Book with a guide who lives on the hillside, pay them directly, and let the story be the one residents tell about their own streets. MMT's Colombia guides start from the same place.
Frequently asked questions
Do I need a visa to work remotely from Colombia for a month?
For a visa-exempt nationality, no, and nothing is filed before you fly. Colombia's foreign ministry decides which countries' nationals may enter for a short stay without a visa, and Migración Colombia is the authority that then authorizes the entry and the stay, with the permit itself. Check your own passport against that list before you book, because the rest of this page rests on it. 1
How do I extend a 90-day stay in Colombia?
Through the Permiso Temporal de Permanencia at Migración Colombia. The 2026 tariff is COP 150,000, about USD 45 at the September rate, and Ecuadorian nationals are exempt from that fee. Start the process while the first permit still has weeks left on it. 7, 4
How much income does the Colombian digital nomad visa require?
Three legal monthly minimum wages for each of the last three months, shown on bank statements. With 2026's minimum wage of COP 1,750,905, that works out at COP 5,252,715 a month, about USD 1,578. An all-risk health policy for the full stay is required alongside it. 1, 9, 4
Can I take on a Colombian client while I am there?
On the nomad visa, no. It covers remote work for foreign companies only and forbids paid work for a person or company domiciled in Colombia. The visa-free entry permit sets the same condition: your pay comes from outside the country. 1
What is the cheapest way to buy a desk in Medellín?
Count the days you will really turn up. Under 14 days a month, buy hours or day passes at Inspira; from the 14th day on, the COP 708,050 fixed desk beats them. 3, 4
Why do Bogotá prices look so much higher than Medellín's?
They are not the same product. The Bogotá price here buys a private office for up to five people, and the Medellín one buys a single desk, so the two prices answer different questions. A solo month in Bogotá is the one figure this page cannot give you. No Bogotá space in this comparison publishes a hot-desk rate; ask for one in writing. 11, 3
Is an eSIM enough for a month of video calls?
Treat it as the second line. Airalo's Colombia eSIM is USD 92 for 30 days of unlimited data, and the company's unlimited plans carry a daily high-speed allowance under its fair-use policy. Put the calls on the fixed line, where the national median upload is 110.85 Mbps. 5, 6
What exchange rate should I budget at?
The TRM, not a bank card rate or a street-exchange quote. The Superintendencia Financiera de Colombia publishes it daily as open data at datos.gov.co, and checking it before you pay keeps your dollar math honest against whatever the counter offers. 4
Sources & review date
Researched 2026-09-26. Prepared from primary sources, with a separate independent source review. Numbered notes in the text point to the sources below. Prices, entry rules and schedules change; use the linked authority for your dates.
- 1Resolución 5477 de 2022, Artículos 34 y 46 (Visa V Turismo, Visa V Nómadas digitales) Ministerio de Relaciones Exteriores de Colombia · Accessed 2026-09-26 · Primary source
- 2Tarifas de visas: Visitante, actividad Nómada digital Ministerio de Relaciones Exteriores de Colombia · Accessed 2026-09-26 · Primary source
- 3Coworking: tarifas por hora, día, mes y paquetes de horas CoWorking Inspira, Medellín · Accessed 2026-09-26 · Primary source
- 4Tasa de Cambio Representativa del Mercado histórica, 25 September 2026 Superintendencia Financiera de Colombia via datos.gov.co · Accessed 2026-09-26 · Primary source
- 5Colombia eSIM packages Airalo · Accessed 2026-09-26 · Primary source
- 6Speedtest Global Index: Colombia median country speeds, August 2026 Ookla · Accessed 2026-09-26 · Primary source
- 7Tarifas vigentes 2026 (Resolución 0599 del 10 de febrero de 2026) Unidad Administrativa Especial Migración Colombia · Accessed 2026-09-26 · Primary source
- 8H.10 Foreign Exchange Rates, release of 21 September 2026 Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System · Accessed 2026-09-26 · Primary source
- 9Decreto 1469 de 2025, Artículo 1: salario mínimo legal mensual vigente para 2026 Presidencia de la República de Colombia · Accessed 2026-09-26 · Primary source
- 10Quokka Coworking: flexible workspaces and private offices Quokka Coworking, Medellín · Accessed 2026-09-26 · Primary source
- 11Bloom Hub: oficinas amobladas y precios Bloom Hub, Bogotá · Accessed 2026-09-26 · Primary source
